Pinstripes With A Side Of Snark #5

Way back in my first post on this site, I talked about how excited I was about the prospect  of writing a weekly Yankees blog, and that I was really going to commit myself to staying on a schedule. Suffice to say, that hasn’t  worked out. So, where the hell have I been? Well honestly (maybe too honestly) I’m about to tell you. To put it bluntly, my father’s health is failing. He’s been plagued by kidney issues, diabetes, high blood pressure, and a chronic nerve disease that leaves him in crippling pain over the past year. Over the course of August we had to rush him to the hospital on three different occasions, and watched his daily medication count balloon, culminating to a point where he basically needs someone around 24 hours a day, which has been my life for the last three or four weeks, which has clearly cut into my blogging time. I tried writing a few entires during this period, but it seemed like every time I got a piece near-done, something new would happen in my home life and overshadow it. Luckily, the situation seems to have settled itself for now, or at least enough that I can take the time to do this. Now, I’m sure there’s a lot of people reading this asking “Why’re you putting this on the internet, and why on a sports site?” To answer the first part, I’ve always been a pretty public person. I have an active Twitter/Tumblr/Facebook  life, and I often use them to vent (while keeping things still private enough in my mind, though I’m sure others disagree.) As for why on a sports site, honestly I can’t think of a better venue to talk about my dad. For better or worse, my relationship with my father is inexorably linked to sports. Not that there aren’t other aspects to our relationship, but almost of best memories with him relate to sports. It was through watching baseball with him that I learned to love the sport. I was with him for every major moment of the last Yankees dynasty, and eventually co-opted him into my New England Patriots fandom, and we enjoyed that dynasty together to. We’ve been to countless Yankee games together, in both the old and new Stadiums, the last being Game 3 of last year’s ALDS against the Twins. On top of that, he sat with me in the upper deck of the old Giants Stadium to watch the Pats go 16-0, even though we were surrounded by  angry Giants fans, vowing I’d be hearing from them a few months later after the Super Bowl… like that could ever happen. All kidding aside, those memories of live sporting events will be with me forever, but they’re sadly over now. While my dad will (hopefully) still be around for a very long time, the odds of him being able to actually attend anything on that level again are slim to none. I do take comfort in the fact that his passion is still there. He listens to/watches every Yankees game, and is psyched for the Playoffs and the upcoming NFL Season. In the end, I’m thankful for that.

Well, that’s what I’ve got for you right now. I’m hoping to have a Yankees piece up at the end of this week (not to mention a couple of smaller Patriots pieces I’ve been working on), but obviously that may be subject to change.

 

 

 

About Brian Delpozo

Die hard fan of the New York Yankees, and the New England Patriots.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in New England Patriots, New York Yankees, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

